Follow Wild Scotland
Facebook Blog Twitter Instagram
Bookmark and Share

Stay up to date with Wild Scotland and sign up for our Newsletter

WTM Responsible Tourism Awards launched for 2017

The 2017 Awards have been announced – they launch on May 2nd and will be presented at WTM on World Responsible Tourism Day, Tuesday, November 7th. In the International Year of Sustainable Tourism for Development, the 2017 global Responsible Tourism Awards to be announced at WTM will focus on the UN Sustainable Development Goals. There are five categories this year – the first four are open only to those who have won gold or silver in the last three years in the global, African, Indian or Irish Responsible Tourism Awards.  The fifth category is for organisations new to the awards.

The Awards categories are:

  1. SDG8: Promote sustained, inclusive and sustainable economic growth, full and productive employment and decent work for all.
  2. SDG 12: Ensure sustainable consumption and production patterns, tourism that creates jobs, promotes local culture and products.
  3. SDG 3: Conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas and marine resources for sustainable development through the sustainable management of tourism on and in the oceans.
  4. Remaining SDGs: Businesses and tourism organisations that can demonstrate their contribution to one of the other 14 SDGs
  5. Newcomers: Businesses and tourism organisations which can demonstrate a contribution to one of the SDGs but which have not won Responsible Tourism Awards in the last three years.

The WTM Responsible Tourism Awards are open for applications on May 2nd and close August 31st.  Details on the Awards website.

View All Industry News Items