Follow Wild Scotland
Facebook Blog Twitter Instagram
Bookmark and Share

Stay up to date with Wild Scotland and sign up for our Newsletter

Treshnish Cottages one of four Wild Scotland members in Scottish Thistle Awards final

Treshnish & Haunn CottagesCongratulatons to Wild Scotland member, Treshnish and Haunn Cottages who have just been announced as one of three finalists for the Sustainable Tourism category of the Scottish Thistle Awards 2010 have been announced.

Treshnish and Haunn Cottages are located on a spectacular coastal farm on the Isle of Mull. Carolyne and Somerset Charrington moved to the island in 1994 and have been responsible and careful custodians of the farm since then. This care and attention has resulted in a vast increase in bio-diversity, acknowledged by Butterfly Conservation Scotland’s Dr Tom Prescott when he visited the farm in June 2010:

“The high quality of the habitat already present across the majority of the farm is also reflected in the number of scarce and rare species present, particularly plants, many of these being present at Treshnish in profusion. I have not seen such a diverse and colourful sward at any other farm or nature reserve in Scotland before.”

A wind turbine, small scale biomass district heating scheme and energy saving laundry facilities have helped cut their carbon emissions, along side the importance of carefully monitoring energy use; seeking to improve energy savings, increase volumes of recycling, continuing to use eco friendly paints and so on make these cottages a great sustainable choice for accommodation on the Isle of Mull. All this has helped the cottages gain Gold in the Green Tourism Business Scheme.

Everyone living on the farm values the role that the cottage guests play in the continuing ‘project’, as well as enjoying their mutual interest in environment, wildlife and nature.  There is an ongoing log of sightings, and guests’ input to this is highly valued.

Three other Wild Scotland members have also reached the finals:

The winners of the Thistle Awards are to be announced on Friday 29th October.

View All News Items