Follow Wild Scotland
Facebook Blog Twitter
Bookmark and Share

Stay up to date with Wild Scotland and sign up for our Newsletter

Caper-watch
Saturday 1 April to Sunday 14 May

5.30am – 8.00am

Price: Free, though donations towards our conservation work would be greatly appreciated, thank you.

Come to the Loch Garten Osprey Centre at the crack of dawn to watch for the most enigmatic of birds, the capercaillie, as the males strut their stuff to woo the ladies. Binoculars and telescopes are available. CCTV cameras, which can be controlled from the Osprey Centre, can also offer close up views of the birds. There is NO need to book for Caper-watch, but in the event of a busy morning, a ticket system is operated so that everyone who attends gets the best chance to see capercaillie. Please remember, these are wild birds and as such, a sight of them cannot be guaranteed. Come wrapped up warm!

Directions
Loch Garten Osprey Centre Grid ref NH977183

Full list of dates
Saturday 1 April 2017
Sunday 2 April 2017
Monday 3 April 2017
Tuesday 4 April 2017
Wednesday 5 April 2017
Thursday 6 April 2017
Friday 7 April 2017
Saturday 8 April 2017
Sunday 9 April 2017
Monday 10 April 2017
Tuesday 11 April 2017
Wednesday 12 April 2017
Thursday 13 April 2017
Friday 14 April 2017
Saturday 15 April 2017
Sunday 16 April 2017
Monday 17 April 2017
Tuesday 18 April 2017
Wednesday 19 April 2017
Thursday 20 April 2017
Friday 21 April 2017
Saturday 22 April 2017
Sunday 23 April 2017
Monday 24 April 2017
Tuesday 25 April 2017
Wednesday 26 April 2017
Thursday 27 April 2017
Friday 28 April 2017
Saturday 29 April 2017
Sunday 30 April 2017
Monday 1 May 2017
Tuesday 2 May 2017
Wednesday 3 May 2017
Thursday 4 May 2017
Friday 5 May 2017
Saturday 6 May 2017
Sunday 7 May 2017
Monday 8 May 2017
Tuesday 9 May 2017
Wednesday 10 May 2017
Thursday 11 May 2017
Friday 12 May 2017
Saturday 13 May 2017
Sunday 14 May 2017
Where is it?
Lat/lng: 57.244653363481554, -3.6949896812438965 (Google Maps)
County: Highland
Contact us
Telephone: 01479 821409
E-mail: abernethy@rspb.org.uk

View All Events